…KABOOM!!!!

….if there is one phrase that accurately sums up the state of my life over the past 6 months, it would be: “the best-laid plans o’ mice an’ men gang aft agley…”
Or for those who are not familiar with the language of that Scottish poet Robert Burns: ‘no matter how much you prepare or plan for something, there will ALWAYS be something that can completely and utterly ruin it.’

For example, let’s take a look at the very thing that you are currently reading:
The aim of this blog was to detail all the experiences and thoughts that I would have whilst going through my third year of a medicine university course…KABOOM!!! BANG!!! CRASH!!! SMASH!!! BLAST!!!

KABOOM1

Those are the sounds of epic explosions of failure, heh. And rightly so…after all, I haven’t typed anything for 6 months on here.

Things generally haven’t worked out well…but when you wake up somewhere with no idea where, when, how and why you got there, then is only one thing you can do:
GET THE HELL OUT OF THERE!!!!!
Well…that’s one option, but it’s probably wiser to figure out what happened the night before that led you to your current predicament (you can tell that this happens to me a lot…*cough*).

To be honest, like the poor mouse of Burn’s poem, I didn’t foresee serious problems at home that would distract me from one of the most important years in my medical career, as well as other commitments, like keeping this blog up to date.

BUT…those are just excuses, regardless of how relevant they are. And it’s not as if I have been idle. I have been drawing cartoons over the past 8 weeks, so I’ll post those up in the next couple of days as there are stories behind them.

…I love how committed I am to making this blog less empty when the follower list for it is even worse (^.^). But it’s the principle that matters…and the fact that if I don’t, I might have nightmares about an angry Scottish poet for not doing so…(>.<)
(FYI I do not mean to offend anyone with the dialect in the drawing…I evidently need to spend more time with Scottish people…).

KABOOM2

Leave a Reply

